Manitoba.—The Manitoba Power Commission was established in 1919 for the purpose of distributing electric energy throughout the Province, with the exception of the Metropolitan Winnipeg area. An agreement, signed in 1955 by the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board, the City of Winnipeg, the Winnipeg Electric Company and The Manitoba Power Commission, provided for the acquisition by the Commission of the distribution properties of the Winnipeg Electric Company and of the City of Winnipeg Hydro Electric System in the suburban areas adjacent to the city. The transfer of these properties became effective Apr. 1, 1955. The utility currently operates under The Manitoba Power Commission Act (R.S.M. 1954, c. 203), as amended.

The Commission's supply of electric energy for distribution is purchased from The Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board at various points in or near Winnipeg. The Commission has gradually acquired virtually all the municipally owned and local privately owned distributing plants within the Province and now supplies service from a widespread network of transmission lines. The Commission's program of rural electrification which was started in the late 1930's and was designed to bring hydro-electric power at uniform service rates to all rural centres with a population of 20 or over, is now completed and currently serves 521 centres. The farm electrification program, recommended by the Manitoba Electrification Enquiry Commission in 1942 and begun in 1945, was successfully completed as an area coverage project in 1953. The Commission now serves over 43,000 farms.

Now that Manitoba is Western Canada's most completely electrified province, the Commission is placing special emphasis on long-range programs designed to keep progress with the future electrical needs of the Province.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Corporation, established Feb. 1, 1949, operates under the provisions of the Power Corporation Act, 1950 (S.S. 1950, c. 10), as amended. It succeeded the Saskatchewan Power Commission which operated from Feb. 11, 1929 to Jan. 31, 1949. The main functions of the Corporation are the generation, transmission, distribution, sale and supply of hydro and steam electric energy. Since 1952 the Corporation has been authorized to produce or purchase, and to transmit, distribute, sell and supply power from natural or manufactured gas.

Particulars of the operations of the Saskatchewan Power Commission during the period 1929 to 1948 and of the operations of the Saskatchewan Power Corporation during 1949 to 1955 are given in earlier editions of the Year Book.

The Corporation is experiencing extensive growth. In 1956 it served 796 urban communities (with six or more customers) in retail sales and the urban communities of Saskatoon, Swift Current and Battleford in bulk sales. Activities of the Corporation are extended to the entire Province with the exception of such cities as Regina and Weyburn, which own and operate municipal plants and distribution systems, and Moose Jaw where the local plant and distribution system is owned and operated by National Light and Power Company Limited. A number of small communities, the largest being the town of Kamsack, are not yet served by the Saskatchewan Power Corporation. Some of these utilities, mostly privately owned, were taken over by the Corporation in 1956.

At the end of 1956 the Corporation served 162,594 customers, of whom 27,608 were located in communities which were supplied with power in bulk sales and 134,986 were Corporation retail customers. The latter comprised 96,763 customers in communities considered as urban and 38,223 customers classified as rural, predominantly farmers. During 1956 all these customers absorbed 659,720,877 kwh. of which 622,676,923 kwh. were generated in Corporation plants and 37,043,954 kwh. were purchased in bulk from Regina and from National Light and Power Company utilities. At the end of the year the investment of the Provincial Government in Corporation assets (electric and natural gas) amounted to \$107,485,378.

During 1956 the Saskatchewan Power Corporation owned and operated three steam generating plants (at Estevan, Prince Albert and Saskatoon) and eight diesel plants with capacity of over 500 kw. each (at Hudson Bay, Maple Creek, Meadow Lake, Shaunavon,